Hokuloa Road by Elizabeth Hand





Title:  Hokuloa Road
Author: Elizabeth Hand
Publisher: Mulholland Books 
Genre:  Mystery & Thrillers
Format:  Kindle
No. of Pages: 401
Date of US Publication:  19 July, 2022
My Rating:  4 Stars



My Thoughts 



Thoughts during reading - creepy, atmospheric, low key tension while reading , slow burn (until after halfway mark).


Thoughts after reading - I really, really enjoyed this, from the first chapter and straight through until the end. Grady, the novel’s protagonist, is likable and empathetic. You’re for him the entire way, and I read this one within two days, because I was so into this story.


I’m definitely planning on checking out the author’s previous work. 


Recommended.



eARC kindly provided by Mulholland Books and NetGalley. Opinions shared are my own.



Description


A young man is drawn into the dark side of paradise in this haunting and "perfectly crafted" mystery (Grady Hendrix), about the eerie secrets of one Hawai’ian islanda place where people have long vanished without a trace . . .

On a whim, Grady Kendall applies to work as a live-in caretaker for a luxury property in HawaiĘ»i, as far from his small-town Maine life as he can imagine. Within days he's flying out to an estate on remote Hokuloa Road, where he quickly uncovers a dark side to the island’s idyllic reputation: it has long been a place where people vanish without a trace.

When a young woman from his flight becomes the next to disappear, Grady is determined—and soon desperate—to figure out what's happened to Jessie, and to all those staring out of the island’s “missing" posters. But working with Raina, Jessie’s fiercely protective best friend, to uncover the truth is anything but easy, and with an inexplicable and sinister presence stalking his every step, Grady can only hope he'll find the answer before it's too late.

Perfect for fans of Peter Heller and 
The White Lotus, and from award-winning writer Elizabeth Hand, a master of crime fiction known for her magnetic characters, seductive prose, and fearless excavations into the darkest corners of our world, comes a chilling and illuminating new novel about a place unlike any other—and the deadly cost of keeping it so.

"Set in a Hawaii so vividly imagined I'm still shaking sand out of my shoes."—Grady Hendrix, New York Times bestselling author of The Final Girl Support Group

“Twisty and dark . . . easily one of the best thrillers I've read.” —Rachel Hawkins, 
New York Times bestselling author of The Wife Upstairs
 
“This is the perfect book for your summer beach bag—an evocative mystery set in a tropical island paradise.” —Jason Rekulak, author of 
Hidden Pictures

Comments

Popular Posts